Voting Opens for Board Members to Guide Local Land Services

08th Apr 2020

Rural landholders will decide who is elected to Local Land Services boards around the state when voting gets underway this Thursday, April 9.

Nearly 100 candidates are standing for 34 vacant positions on 11 Local Land Services regional boards around the state.

A total of seven candidates are running in the Northern Tablelands region, with three to be elected.

“I am urging all ratepayers of Northern Tablelands Local Land Services to take up the opportunity to choose who they want on their regional board,” said State Chair of Local Land Services, Richard Bull.

“These ratepayer-elected board members will play a crucial role in helping keep the agency local and relevant in the Northern Tablelands region,” said Mr Bull.

Anyone who pays Local Land Services rates and is aged over 18 is automatically included on the electoral roll and needs to cast their vote by 8 May.

People can find out more about the election at and head to for a list of all the candidates.

“Given the implications of COVID-19, it is fortunate that voting can be done online,” Mr Bull said.

The process is simple and ratepayers who didn't request a postal voting pack have until 6 May to request an online voting pack,” he said.

The ratepayer-elected board members will sit alongside those appointed by the NSW Minister for Agriculture and together they will guide Local Land Services.

Local Land Services is the frontline agency that helps grow and protect agriculture and environments in NSW and connects rural people to the best advice and services.

“It is vital we have continued strong leadership of Local Land Services, so that we can continue to deliver quality customer services to farmers, landholders and the wider community,” said Mr Bull.

The election is being run by the Australian Election Company so that objectivity is maintained throughout the process.

Once ratepayers register for a voting pack, they will be provided with instructions on how to cast their vote via an external election site.

Key dates:

●            voting opens on Thursday 9 April

●            registrations for online voting packs close at AEST 5pm Wednesday 6 May

●            voting closes at AEST 5pm Friday 8 May

●            election results will be announced in June.

click for larger image